Guild Wars 2

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (4 votes, average: 4.50 out of 5)

Guild Wars 2 Gameplay Videos…


Guild Wars 2 is a massively multiplayer online role-playing game developed by ArenaNet and published by NCsoft. Set in the fantasy world of Tyria, the game follows the re-emergence of Destiny’s Edge, a disbanded guild dedicated to fighting the Elder Dragons, a Lovecraftian species that has seized control of Tyria in the time since the original Guild Wars. The game takes place in a persistent world with a story that progresses in instanced environments

Guild Wars 2 allows a player to create a character from a combination of five races and eight professions, the five races being the humans and charr, introduced in Prophecies, the asura and norn, introduced in Eye of the North, and the sylvari, a race exclusive to Guild Wars 2. The professions, three of which do not appear in Guild Wars, are divided into armor classes: “scholars” with light armor, “adventurers” with medium armor, and “soldiers” with heavy armor. There is no dedicated healing class as the developers felt that making it necessary for every party to have a healer was restrictive.

The race and profession of the player determines the skills they can access. Guild Wars 2, like Guild Wars, uses a skill-based combat system, whereby players must select only 10 skills from a much larger pool, introducing an element of strategy. However, unlike Guild Wars, skill slots have predefined roles: the first five are determined by player’s weapon and profession, the sixth is for healing, the seventh through ninth will be skills with no defined roles that are unlocked as the game progresses, and the tenth slot will be for an “elite” skill, which is also initially locked.

The low level cap of Guild Wars (20) has been replaced with one at 80. Player versus environment features a scaling system that lowers the players level and stats to reflect the levels of monsters, thereby maintaining a global level of difficulty. In player versus player, entry to e-sport will grant access to all skills, items and provide a fixed level, so that all players will be on a level playing field.
In addition to the small-scale, tactical combat described above, the game features “World versus World”, large scale combat taking place in a persistent world independent of the main world. Players are able to drop in and out “on the fly” and possess the ability to construct siege weapons, with rewards commensurate with their success. Guild Wars 2 offers eight crafting disciplines, allowing the player to practice two at a time, with a fee for switching. While there are basic recipes to follow, the player can experiment with different combinations of ingredients to discover new recipes.

Guild Wars 2 Classes:

Elementalist: The elementalist class has access to a huge skill set of elemental themed spells, and has the ability to switching from one element attunement to the other on the go, effectively changing their entire skill set (and role) on the fly. They can be excellent damage dealers and support characters.

Engineer: The technology oriented class, the engineer specializes on having the right tool for every situation. In addition to having a variety of engineer-specific weapon kits (flamethrower, grenades, etc), the engineer benefits from an auxiliary skill bar that changes depending on what utility skills they have equipped.

Guardian: A defensive plate-wearing juggernaut, the guardian has a variety of group-oriented skills called Virtues, which are essentially a special set of group buffs. They also have access to temporary spirit weapon pets, and shouts to bolster their group or demoralize their enemies.

Mesmer: Illusionists and tricksters, the mesmer play style relies on tricks, teleportation and boons/conditions. They have access to the illusion mechanic – temporary pets that can be sacrificed for a variety of different effects.

Necromancer: Strongly oriented on pet control and conditions, necromancers can literally have a small undead warband of their own. They can also turn into a spectre by killing enough foes, unlocking an entirely new skill bar for a short moment, and giving them unexpected durability.

Ranger: Benefitting from a single-pet system, the ranger has a huge selection of potential land and sea pets (that must first be captured!). They can also use a variety of traps, summon spirits, and tend to be equally good at range and up close.

Thief: Fast and agile, the thief is oriented on leaping around the field, jumping in and out of stealth while landing some solid damage. Their class mechanic is Steal, which allows them to acquire an extra ability depending on who, or what they steal from.

Warrior: Plate-clad weapon masters, the warrior can be anything from a close combat dual wielding berserker, to a long range rifleman, giving them a huge amount of versatility (up to 19 weapon combinations). Their special adrenaline ability is a special super-skill that changes depending on their current weapon. They also have access to combat stances, and banners for group support.

Revenant: Channel legendary powers to slaughter foes and unleash chaos on the battlefield with our brand new profession: the revenant. Enter the field of battle heavily armored and equipped with the otherworldly powers of the Mists.

Minimum System Requirements:
Operating System: XP Service Pack 2 or better
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo 2.0 GHz or AMD Athlon 64 X2, or better
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce 7800, ATI X1800, Intel HD 3000, or better
Share this game with your friends...
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on Pinterest

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!